- County Clerk
- Vehicle Titles
Certificates of Title
Vehicle ownership is evidenced by a Certificate of Title. The County Clerk issues Wyoming Certificates of Title for the State. A Wyoming title is required to obtain Wyoming license plates and registration from the County Treasurer.
Transferring ownership in a vehicle can be complicated. There are many variables which affect titling when buying or selling a vehicle. Please feel free to contact the County Clerk's Office at (307) 367-4372 with questions about buying and selling a new or used vehicle. For your convenience, we have created a checklist of what you need if you purchase a vehicle that already has a Wyoming title. We have also created a checklist of what you need if you purchase a vehicle with a title from another state.
With the influx of people moving in from other states, we felt it important to create a list of what you'll need to bring to the courthouse in order to transfer your existing title into a Wyoming title and make you eligible to get Wyoming license plates.
|Wyoming Certificate of Title||$15|
|Lien filed on title||$20|
|Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) Inspection||$10|
If a title issued by Sublette County has been lost, destroyed, or mutilated, you can obtain a duplicate title from this office located at:
21 S. Tyler
Pinedale, WY 82941
An owner listed on a title must sign the application (PDF) for a duplicate title and have that signature notarized. You can print the application for Duplicate Title and complete, sign, and have it notarized. Bring or mail the application to us with the $15 fee. The title will be issued following an 11-day waiting period required by law. This procedure applies to free and clear titles.